17
Dec
08

Oy Vey

As soon as I heard about the Madoff fraud case, I thought, how will this affect Brandeis and the American Jewish community that supports it?  As I expected: POORLY.

The Palm Beach Jewish community is an epicenter of Brandeis philanthropic support.  Every spring my Brandeis quarterly journal arrives with photos of our Israeli president, Jehuda Reinharz, sporting a tan and beaming at the camera with his arms around elderly, multi-millionaire Jewish couples who have just gifted another round of millions for a new science center, student center, endowed chair, etc.

Just as I felt distantly personally involved in the 2000 Florida recount mess, this latest turmoil to roll through Palm Beach, FL leaves me cringing and worrying about my indirect benefactors.  And I need not envision only sunny skies and beautiful beaches as I fret: Boston’s non-profit organizations and institutions are also taking a substantial hit.

0 Responses to “Oy Vey”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

