15
Nov
08

My Next Political Project

That would be finding myself.

Hee.

Seriously – I am an honorary M.O.T., and am being mentored by and working with (in New Orleans, for instance) a scholar of black politics.  At some point I need to know my own history.

The man – an urban history scholar and fellow ethno-phile (yes, I just made that up) – is very excited about this new commitment of mine.  He has already outlined a program of study for me.  I thought maybe you all might have some suggestions or insight too.

Basically, I’m looking for readings or sites focusing on Irish-Catholics in America, Boston Irish-Catholics, Irish American history, Irish history or ethnography or memoirs, and anything else you think might be interesting.  I’m at least fourth generation Boston Irish, from a family of tradesmen and nurses and teachers and Vets.  My paternal great-grandfathers were a painter and a bartender – one was born in Ireland, the other in Jersey City (random!).  So maybe tales of the Irish and the unions might be interesting too.

Thoughts?  What’s been your education, if any, on the Irish in America?  We’re kind of a big ethnic group, so you might know one or more of us.  Heh.  One of my favorite stories about being Irish is drinking with a Korean-American friend years ago in NY and him telling me that Koreans were “the Irish of the Orient.”  Cuz we’re hated and drunk.  Ack, look at me trading in stereotypes already!  Clearly I need some enlightening.

Whattya got for me?

PS: Nothing boring.  Thanks.

2 Responses to “My Next Political Project”


  1. November 16, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    On the off chance you’re not familiar, How the Irish Became White by Noel Ignatiev? Read it freshman year in college and can still remember it.

  2. 2 grahamad
    November 16, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    I think I’ve had it on my bookshelf and never read it. It’s one of those I keep meaning to get to…


Leave a Reply

