03
Nov
08

Holiday

If ever an election felt like it required a national voting holiday, this would be it.  I’m having a hard time making any plans for Wednesday, on the assumption that I’ll be up until 4:00 a.m. drinking in whatever brilliant or abominable outcome occurs.  I’m having a hard time imagining I’ll be able to focus on anything on Wednesday, November 5th.  I’m picturing the day after the Red Sox won the World Series in 2004 after our 86 year drought.  I showed up to school in the same clothes I’d wore yesterday and spent most of the day giddily emailing and wandering the halls, having been out all night with friends in Cambridge.

I agree with folks who criticize our voting on Tuesday/a weekday/workday tradition, but I’ve never given it all that much thought.

But this year, tomorrow feels like it should be a national day of action – of voting, ensuring voter protection, helping people get to the polls, gathering together with friends and neighbors, and staying glued to the TV/web/radio etc. for updates on election activity in our communities and around the country.

Finally, November 4th is upon us!!!

I, for one, am ready to cast my vote!!!!

And I’ll be thinking of Sen. Hillary Clinton as I go to the polls.

1 Response to “Holiday”


  1. November 4, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Voted – #25 at 6:30 in the morning – and it went easy. Not so many hard choices in my nabe.

    I tend to think that what we think will be a long night will in fact not be – if, as we expect, Obama’s winning Pennsylvania, Virginia, and probably even Florida… then it’s over, and the rest is details. If he’s not… then we live in a weird, weird country. Which could be true… but I doubt it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

