07
Mar
08

Equity, Justice, Growth

I’m at a conference in New Orleans covering these themes, though the words “regional,” “social” and “smart” come before them, respectively.  (Me, I’m skeptical of regionalism and smart growth.)

It’s an interesting conference in that these themes don’t necessarily go hand in hand, and it’s effectively a community development conference that’s rather glitzy: held at the Sheraton on Canal St, with talks by Danny Glover and a panel beginning in a minute hosted by Tavis Smiley.  Last night the Mayor said a few words at the evening reception.

But it’s been interesting so far, as I hear from scholars, practitioners and wonks about trends in federal policy, the rising salience of poverty among voters, and municipal strategies for combatting poverty. I’ve been surprised at how much I enjoy it, given I usually can’t sit still during conf. presentations for more than 5 minutes.

I’ll be back over the weekend when this is all said and done with some longer, more interesting updates.  For now, I have to complain about one thing: WHY DOES THE MARRIOTT NOT ONLY CHARGE IT’S GUESTS A DAY RATE FOR INTERNET, BUT ALSO REQUIRE US TO USE A WIRE ATTACHED TO A MODEM?  I THOUGHT IT WAS 2008. 

Happy Friday.

PS: Life’s a lot more peaceful without the incessant virtual shouting of the blogosphere.

2 Responses to “Equity, Justice, Growth”


  1. March 7, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I know it is… but how can you stand it!? 🙂

    Some Marriotts do have wifi… but all have some sort of day charge. The alternative would be free wifi… and a higher room rate.

  2. 2 Redstar
    March 7, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Most hotels I stay in have free wi-fi. Marriott, though arguably nicer than many places I stay, feels totally archaic compared to these others.


Leave a Reply

