07
Feb
08

Busting Out All Over

I’ve been pretty disappointed in the quality of my writing re: this presidential campaign. As I’ve mentioned, I’m not usually so caught up in electoral politics, and the passion I feel for the first serious female contender for President is not coming across like what I hope is my usual ardent yet clear posts related to poverty, economic development, urban politics, etc. But have no doubt, I am becoming obsessed with Hillary Clinton’s Campaign, in part because the momentum surrounding this Democratic race is infectious and in part because watching the ups and downs of her campaign is truly fascinating for this ambitious, political young woman who cares deeply about gender, equity, power, policy and – of course – fame.

So here’s another post spilling over with Hillary Clinton support – part of the process of me coming to terms with my own gendered and activist ambivalence at supporting her. I have to thank Melissa McEwan at Shakesville, who has done a tremendous job of calling out repeatedly and smartly both the popular bias against Cinton, and the internalized misogyny too many women have to overcome in order to publicly support Clinton. I am blowing off paid and academic work lately thinking about this issue, in part because I have many close, sharp, powerhouse women friends who loathe Clinton, for reasons I can’t quite understand or disentangle. And I have to hold my tongue to not go overboard in trying to win them over to her camp.

So, per usual, this blog is a more indirect effort to encourage these and all women to think deeply about the pervasiveness of sexism that I think has largely contributed to anointing Hillary Clinton The Most Hated Woman in America (seriously, can you think of another?), while simultaneously fueling a revolt against that misogyny. In a campaign where the two Democratic candidates have largely similar policy stances, both promise an unprecedented win, and both succeed in turning out record-breaking numbers of voters, many women – and men – on the fence about either candidate have taken up the mantle for Clinton in protest of the bias she faces as a woman, versus as a political candidate. Without further ado, here are a few highly recommended links regarding sexism and supporting Sen. Clinton for President. Not to mention a few heartwarmers, and proud moments.

6 Responses to “Busting Out All Over”


  1. February 8, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Thanks very much for the kind and supportive words, Leigh. šŸ™‚

  2. 2 donna darko
    February 8, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Nice roundup.

    There’s a NY Observer article that finally explained women’s Clinton hate to me. She’s not stereotypically feminine enough. She’s the type of woman who wears pants.

    Um, that’s SEXIST.

  3. February 8, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Bring on the pants! Love pants. Skirts ok in summer, when it’s hot, but ew, nylons/hose/tights the rest of the year? No thanks!

    Madame Pantsuit for President!!!

  4. February 8, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Wow, I feel like NYC Weboy after his Ezra debut! Melissa from Shakesville left a comment! It’s like getting an autograph. šŸ™‚

  5. February 10, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    I’m really glad you put all these up. I get so mad at myself when I feel like I need to hide or apologize for my support for HRC, so it’s incredibly helpful to hear from other people who, whether or not they support her, are at least as appalled as I am by the misogyny she fights every single day.

  6. 6 Pizza Diavola
    February 10, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Madame Pantsuit for President!!!

    Couldn’t agree more! I hate skirt suits because they constrict my movement. Feeling uncomfortable and fidgeting all day is bad for productivity at work, no matter how more demurely/conservatively professional skirts look. šŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

