15
Jan
08

G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S (the Flouncy, Flouncy…)

Weboy here.

It was during the third shampoo – the one before the scalp massage and the Shiatsu in my chair – that I realized I like the pampering of my hair salon. I have given up a great many extravagances – I no longer shop til I drop, or go to the Spa for massages – but my hair is one thing where I just cant skimp.

And too, there’s the moments, like the shampoo, that are just utter indulgences. I usually close my eyes to experience the sensations of having someone else touch my head; it’s not something that happens all that regularly, and because, like many, I carry a lot of stress, it does take a lttle work to let oneself be touched. I completely understand people who say they simply leave their body – I drift into semi-consciousness.

Red is quite simply the only woman I know who came with amazing hair and needs to do little to it – when I first met her we discussed hair coloring, and she decided she couldn’t do it because her natural red might never be the same. And dash-it-all, she’s right: I don’t think I will ever see such golden tresses, especially when they’re kissed by the summer sun. Not only that, but with little effort – and I mean one basic blow-and-go haircut she’s had pretty much in all the time I’ve known her – her hair falls in waves of cascading shoulder length curls that most people get perms to achieve.

Me, not one thing about my hair is natural – I’ve cut it and dyed it and straightened it and braided it and done God knows what else. My current regime is the famous “Asian straight perm,” which I love, and which is utterly time consuming. My hair stylist is a genius, a wizard at cutting straight hair, and a great chemist – the results are long and lustrous, with minimal damage.

And, with a toss of my long mane, that may be that: thanks for having me over. Red should be back online shortly. With a tan, no doubt, and a refreshed spirit. It is, after all, a glamorous life.

3 Responses to “G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S (the Flouncy, Flouncy…)”


  1. January 16, 2008 at 3:12 am

    This is a terrific sign-off, not only because it is so flattering to yours truly!! I love your compliments; every 3 months when I go in for a haircut, I think I should do something different, change it up, but inevitably leave with the same layered, easy look. Manageable is the first priority, with stylish being the second. And that my fundamental inspiration remains the feathered do’s of the late 70s, well, that should come as no surprise to anyone!!

    After a WONDERFUL vacation, I will be back on line in the next day or so. My sleep schedule is completely out of whack given the red-eye I took home earlier today. Eeee. My body aches I’m so tired and off kilter right now.

    Thank you Weboy, you fine young thang you!

  2. January 16, 2008 at 3:13 am

    And now I think I might have to download
    G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S.

  3. 3 Amy
    January 17, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Weboy, you did a great job, especially to sign off with a hair post!

    Redstar does have the bestest tresses. Red is actually the hardest color to knock off, and I have tried.


Leave a Reply

