16
Aug
07

Mint Green

According to BostonMaggie’s Levels of Boston Irishness, I’m mint green:

Mint Green: Moved out of the city as a kid. Either has a government job or knows someone who does, especially cops. Likes a pint, but around the age of 30 developed a taste for Jameson’s. MP3 player is full of Dropkick Murphys and The Saw Doctors. Drinks in suburban places with neon shamrocks in the window. Hopes to visit the Auld Sod someday,but is saving for Disney. Might know someone who can get you off jury duty.

I’d venture to say my mint green roots have grown substantially intertwined with the bright blue of Brandeis and the pinstriped New Yorkers I’ve met over the years. This would explain why Zero 7 and Jill Scott crowd out the modern Irish bands in the iPod.  (And let’s not overlook the reddish-yellow tint I’ve picked up from all the foreign spice consumption in my past!). 

As for the drinking, hopefully the Irish bars of Brighton Center will have to suffice. 

Though I’m pretty sure I’m related by degrees to folks who can get you off jury duty.
Via.

2 Responses to “Mint Green”


  1. August 16, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Of all the choices (and then we should discuss that site generally), I see your point… if I didn’t live here and know the other shades, I might not completely get the nuance. As much as I liked Good Will Hunting, I always it was sort of over-the-top; I now see it was practically subtle, so by the time I saw The Depahhhted, even I knew that was real. And of course, you’ve always seemed, like, really Irish to me… but what do I know? I’m the whitest black man imaginable. 🙂

  2. August 20, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    In checking back in over at Boston Maggie, I see this is the original link to this classification:

    http://www.barstoolsports.com/article/patricks_day_guide_boston_irish/1207

    Good times, good times.


Leave a Reply

