16
Jul
07

Way Out There

(UPDATE, 7/16/07: Apparently the Masshole accent is easily confused with the Canadian accent immortalized in Degrassi High, the nasal sounds of Ohio brought to life in Dave Chappelle’s Block Party, or the gritty voices of old Westerns. See the comments below.)

Still flying high from the Pandagon coverage of the last couple days, which of course leads me to exploring new blogs and freedom fighters (of all stripes) in the ‘sphere this morning. Unsurprisingly, many are way more sophisticated than me in maximizing all the free fun stuff there is with which to decorate our blogs. Try as I may, I can’t seem to make enough of this site without wanting to gouge out my eyes from the effort. Nonetheless, in honor of a great week fighting the good fight and “meeting” new people in this virtual world, here’s a cheerful Sat morning post filled with goofy sh*t I’ve discovered, courtesy of all the great, faceless peeps out there:1) My own Peculiar Aristocratic Title:

My Peculiar Aristocratic Title is:
Her Noble Excellency Redstar the Wholesome of Withering Glance
Get your Peculiar Aristocratic Title

2) My Blog Rating:

3) Me and the M.A.S., as Simpsons Avatars:

Create Your Own!

4) My Accent:

(Though the M.A.S. tells me it goes from this to Bahstan after either three drinks, or more than a few hours with my family)

What American accent do you have? Midland (“Midland” is not necessarily the same thing as “Midwest”) The default, lowest-common-denominator American accent that newscasters try to imitate. Since it’s a neutral accent, just because you have a Midland accent doesn’t mean you’re from the Midland.

Enjoy!!

5 Responses to “Way Out There”


  1. 1 Laura
    July 14, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    I LOVE the accent one! Apparently I’m from the west…

  2. July 14, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    The fact that they don’t ask us where we insert “r”s in our words (idear, anyone??) is proof that the test is biased!!

  3. 3 Bill Pollock
    July 16, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    I seems if you combine a few years of Boston with a few years of Wisconsin/Minnesota living, you end up with a south Jersey/Philly accent.

    Yo Adrienne!

  4. 4 Tracey
    July 16, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Mark this down…it’s my 2nd post.

    I hereby declare that test to be 100% not valid. The test indicates that I have a Northern/Canadian-esque accent. What a load crap.

    Big flaw: the question about saying “Bath, staff and pass”. Who on Earth says “st-aaah-ff” or “p-aaah-ss” other than an English person of Madonna? “B-aaah-th”, on the other hand, is quite common ’round these parts.

  5. July 16, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    So collectively among a group here who grew up together at least for awhile, incl. 3 of us who haven’t really lived anywhere else, we have: Midland, West, South Jersey, and Canadian (TK, it was all that time in ME!!). Who knew the Boston accent was actually so diverse and amorphous! (Helps clarify to this Bostonian why I can’t understand what the f*** Menino is saying half the time.)


Leave a Reply

