30
May
07

Supporting Our Troops

Ha!  Made you look!

Just when you thought I’d forgotten all about it, chattering on about my apartment, tv, etc…

WHAM!

I’m right back at ya’, yammering on about public housing and savin’ all them poor people.

I’m up over at Foresight, championing the Gulf Coast funds in the Iraq bill and pushing for additional support for H.R. 1227, an equitable Gulf housing bill we hope ain’t D.O.A. in the Senate.

3 Responses to “Supporting Our Troops”


  1. 1 Jake
    May 31, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    No one likes to be called poor… disadvantaged. 😉

  2. June 1, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    First it’s low-income, then it’s low-asset, now it’s disadvantaged….am I even talking about people? Maybe it’s neighborhoods…no it’s communities…

    I find poor more straightforward, but I suppose one might argue that it’s more value-laden (given that among it’s many definitions over at M-W on-line is “inferior in value”). Mostly I think of the other def – “lacking in material possessions.” I’m surprised to learn that M-W’s def. of “disadvantaged” is: “lacking in the basic resources or conditions (as standard housing, medical and educational facilities, and civil rights) believed to be necessary for an equal position in society.”

    Sounds like the left-wing conspiracy may have sunk their hooks into our dictionary! 😉

    Anyway, it inspired a comment, didn’t it! So my work here is done. For the moment.

  3. June 2, 2007 at 7:00 am

    I suppose this means we’re working on “antidisadvantagement” programs… 🙂


Leave a Reply

