07
May
07

Dancing with the President, or at least, a well-known academic

Can Dancing with the Stars be in my future?  Please?  Do I have to wait until I’m out of office, and squeeze it into the lecture/saving-the-world circuit?  Or do you think making a stop along the campaign trail will help win over the voters? 

This could help resolve my life-long competing devotions – future President, famous writer, dancer. 

 

  

(The unerring commitment is to fame; it’s the different paths that trip me up…heh.)

Even if I was little more than your average rock star public intellectual, wouldn’t you like to know I was breakin’ loose from the Ivory Tower from time to time, ready to rip it up and win the voters’ hearts? And to think I used to devote my Monday nights to Antiques Roadshow.  

There’s a lot going on in the world, some of it typically offensive, and some of it down right obnoxious.  Unfortunately, in my bubble on the banks of the Charles, it’s the last two weeks of the semester, and the papers and assignments have piled up.  If you don’t hear from me as regularly, turn to this woman when you get lonely.  She’s fantastic, and I only wish I could dress the M.A.S. up in low-cut satin shirts and lavaliers. 

(Future pride of the MIT Alumni Association!)

4 Responses to “Dancing with the President, or at least, a well-known academic”


  1. May 8, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Laila Ali frightens me. 🙂

    Count me as baffled – I’ve never understood the appeal of Dancing With The Stars… it’s interesting when quasi-celebrities take ballroom dance lessons? Really? That just seems weird to me, as does the combination of slutty costuming, atrocious muzak, and “rub me, hump me” dance moves. Perhaps it really is that glittery smut sells. But after spending a season watching “Paradise Hotel” on Fox (or whatever it was called), the worst excuse for a reality show EVER, I have no room to judge others. I watch American Idol. You learn to live with what you can’t rise above.

    But you, my red-headed friend, are bound for the White House, not the Grindhouse. 🙂

  2. May 8, 2007 at 11:06 am

    I have no idea what the appeal of Dancing with the Stars is either. I think Idol is boring, so maybe I just like my talent shows to emphasize dancing v. singing. And it’s sort of cool when they trot out old faves like Cliff from Cheers and 90210’s Steve Sanders – washed-up celebs are always appealing. The other entertaining part is that it’s live, and sometimes folks get pissed and bitch – like Billy Ray Cyrus last night – and then the announcers have no idea how to handle it. Another part that works.

    But mostly I think I just like dancing. And there ain’t too much of it on tv.


Leave a Reply

