18
Apr
07

The RP History Month Fast Facts: Fewer Boys Being Born

I could have told you this – of my 13 friends who became first-time moms in the last few years, nine had daughters.  I was so ready for someone to have a boy that I told my newly pregnant cousin Erin last fall that I’d give her $50 if she had a boy (she’s delivering on this one; you think she’ll hold me to it??). 

The falling male birth rate presented in this article is restricted to the U.S. and Japan, and blamed on environmental toxins.  Vague, and creepy.  Apparently, it’s important that the male birth rate remains higher than that of girls because it naturally corrects for the higher rate of male deaths at birth.  Or something.  Boo.  (It’s nothing but uplifting reporting this week at the RP!)

I am learning after all my kvetching that there’s a much better range of clothing for little girls out there.  And it seems, whether we’re 4 or 34, we never grow tired of being a princess!  Eeek.

 

2 Responses to “The RP History Month Fast Facts: Fewer Boys Being Born”


  1. 1 Bill Pollock
    April 19, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    The connection between toxins and women explains a lot.

  2. 2 Amy
    April 19, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    So glad my prince will be enthusiastically received…


Leave a Reply

