12
Apr
07

The RP History Month Lecture Series II: Typical Lawrence

I’m up at Foresight, discussing the social implications of the foreclosure crisis for urban poor communities in the U.S.

Check it out. 

This week’s lecture series jointly sponsored by New Vision: An Institute for Policy and Progress. 

3 Responses to “The RP History Month Lecture Series II: Typical Lawrence”


  1. April 13, 2007 at 7:52 am

    One thing I meant to bring up in my post on the lending situation is that you and I live in an area – Massachusetts – that appears to be on the leading edge of the mortgage collapse. The Wall Street Journal charted the communities of greatest subprime foreclosures, and of the top 10, 5 were communities that ring Boston, and another 5-7 were in the top 20 (I’m not looking at the table just now). After us, it looked like other obvious urban areas are being affected most – New York, Michigan, and California. I don’t entirely understand how Mass got so deep into this – your explanation of the increases in minority poulations goes a kong way – but I think it certainly colors the stories we’re getting up here and, as a result, our thinking on the topic. I still think the subprime problems are a slow rolling economic disaster whose ultimate outcomes are worse than people imagine; but I am an economic pessimist like that, so perhaps other market forces can correct the problem. I don’t see that happening myself, though.

  2. April 13, 2007 at 9:17 am

    Re: Lawrence, I used it from a Christian Science Monitor piece that I found on a Tuscon AZ website.

    Besides the urban perspective I present, there’s also just general speculation in the market that has made the states of NV, CO, FL, and CA the hardest hit in the nation, according to the stuff I’ve seen. Everything I’ve read – until the example of Lawrence – has not focused on MA at all. I’m sure you’re right, but it’s not the perspective from which I’m operating.


Leave a Reply

