15
Mar
07

Kids Today

I’ve made what feels like major headway this week on enhancing this blogging business (it’s all for you, my adoring hordes of fans).  Notice:

  • Categorized Links! 
  • Recent Posts!
  • The return of the Virgo’s List of Lists, including everyone’s favorite about running into my uncle the union electrician when we both should be working (this one, alas, is password protected, though my hated function hall anthems is on the open list)!
  • I have added little taglines to my categories, so roll that little arrow on over them.  Oooh, that feels so good!

But, before I go blind or develop a permanent squint a la Clint Eastwood, or possibly worse, fail out of school, I need to take a break from teaching myself code and put on hold the other changes I hope to bring about soon:

  • Images of Redstar in action!
  • Favorite and related posts!
  • Re-ordered archives!
  • A permanent tagline!

It’s going to be AMAZING, life changing.  Surfing the internet at work will never be the same. 

What a week.  I’m an old woman, beat down from taking on YouTube, html code, and generational gender shifts. 

I’m reading Laura Sessions Stepp’s Unhooked: How Young Women Pursue Sex, Delay Love, and Lose at Both.  This book was released recently with the usual hype about whether this older feminist-mother-journalist was getting it right when she decries the apparently-sexually-liberating practice of hooking up among today’s young women.  As the title indicates, she thinks it robs women of genuine chances to experience love, intimacy and healthy, stable relationships, the latter of which most of her interviewees claim to want later in life.  From the NY Times ($):

“…criticism [of the book] has exposed a generational divide between Ms. Sessions Stepp, whose battles for women’s rights focused mainly on equality in the workplace rather than in the bedroom, and some members of a younger generation who equate feminism with sexual freedom.”

I’m about two-thirds of the way through the book, and I’m processing it on multiple levels – a social commentary on women, sex, and feminism as well as a piece of research aimed at a popular audience.  But, I can say already I observe a lot of generational differences between myself and these women, currently in high school and college.  It’s striking.  A lot of their opinions about love and relationships resonate with me, their statements are not unlike how I justified my own adventurous single life in NYC.  But their actions seem much more wild or cavalier or brazen than my behavior ever was.  I’m certainly not some middle-aged mom, we all know that, and so I’m struck by how I can relate emotionally to these women yet feel absolutely aged by their behavior.  I was amused enough by Stepp’s response to the criticism –

“Ms. Sessions Stepp said that she welcomes criticism, though not from people who have not read the book or who have never conducted research. ‘This is what I love about the bloggers,’ she said. ‘They haven’t been out there interviewing young people for 10 years. They’re talking about their own college experience. Everyone’s had some sort of sexual experience and they all think they’re experts on it.”’

to purchase the book so I could authoritatively weigh in on her findings and analysis. (Apparently she missed that Time magazine thinks we’re all geniuses.) Stay tuned.  Any more sleepless nights like this past week and I’ll be through it in no time.  Because unlike Stepp’s young women or the women they’ll become, the only thing I’m wrestling with at 2 a.m. these days is the meaning of life.  Clearly I’ve been lost these last weeks without the spiritual guidance of my generation.

Leave a Reply

