20
Feb
07

Fat Tuesday

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that Mardi Gras is today (especially for all you Catholics looking for that last bender before Lent kicks in tomorrow).  Truthfully, the M.A.S. really needs to guest post on this one; he’s the cultural historian and surely knows the finer details of Mardi Gras traditions, especially the story of the Mardi Gras Indians.

Last year I made it to a bunch of parades, but both this year and last I missed today’s festivities.  When I packed up Willow Street a few weeks ago, I packed up all my beads from 2006.  If I’d been following tradition up here, I would have draped them around my house – clustering them on display in bowls, hanging multiple strands on my door (and looping them around fences and porches if I had either of those). 

In failing to do so, I urge you to check out the brilliant photos from the Backstreet Cultural Museum photo gallery, an amazing NOLA museum dedicated to the cultural traditions of the city’s Black society (incl. Mardi Gras).  Here’s a few I picked up on the web (I have some great ones of kids on my old phone, but understandably they may now languish in obscurity there…)

Happy Mardi Gras!

0 Responses to “Fat Tuesday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

