24
Jan
07

There’s Hope for Me Yet

A somewhat outmoded title, I admit…

…now that I’m part of the M.A.S., I have slightly more faith in the world that there’s good partners out there…

Well, as it turns out, there are, especially for hyper-educated sharp cats like myself.

Of course, I may be getting ahead of myself.  This article on the class gap in marriage rates, uses college education as the marker, whereas professional students like myself might be the outliers here. 

The impetus for this deeper analysis of marriage rates in the U.S. is this piece that ran last week on how more than half of women in the U.S. are living without a spouse.  My beloved grandmother – Marie “Nannie” Taylor – who passed away on Monday night at age 89 (and 8 days), was one of these women.  There is a tribute to her, and my grandfather, deceased 19 years earlier, forthcoming on this website.  Once I can get through the state of shock that’s confined me to my couch and tv for the last 24 hours, I will try to come back on-line here and share with you a glimpse of the feisty, independent woman and quirky, unconventional man that were my maternal grandparents.

Meanwhile, check out NYC Weboy, where my informal blogging partner will certainly take the lead on analyzing the irrelevant SOTU last night, or the latest goings-on at Brandeis, where the school that groomed Abbie Hoffman, Angela Davis, Jack Abramoff and yours truly for public life delivered the latest round of controversy to its energized, activist campus. 

 

2 Responses to “There’s Hope for Me Yet”


  1. 1 Bill Pollock
    January 24, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Sorry to hear about you grandmother’s passing.

  2. January 25, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Nannie was an amazing woman with a dance in her step. I feel honored to have known her and wish your family comfort in their many wonderful memories.


Leave a Reply

