20
Jan
07

Let the Games Begin!

She’s “in it to win,” ladies and gentlemen, and I for one, am thrilled.  This is barely news, we all knew this was coming, but Hillary promises to be the first female candidate to be taken seriously, even if it’s because people love her and hate her with equal zeal.  (I will never forget when she was first running for Senator in NYC while I was in business school, and one female colleague was walking around campus with an anti-Hillary button – you know, “Hillary” with the red circle around it and the red line running through it.  The Times says she’s very popular with women voters, but in my anecdotal experience, her worst, most virulent critics have been women.  We’re good like that, sadly.)

As I’ve written elsewhere, the political fields are changing, and like we just experienced up here in the urban, blue Northeast, we are facing a (Democratic) race between a white woman and a black man.  Throw in the third candidate of John Edwards and his poverty platform, and you’ve got a primary I don’t want to miss.  For me, Hillary is more of the old school, inner-circle (“Bush, Clinton, Bush, Clinton” anyone?) toe-the-line candidate that I’d like to see give way to a more progressive, leftist challenger like Obama (and I’d really like them all to adopt Edwards’s anti-poverty message), but her gender nonetheless matters to me, because we need high-profile women like her and Pelosi to break down some basic barriers for other women to enter the political playing field.  I wouldn’t be surprised if all three of these candidates somehow were “assassinated” or imploded in the primaries and a less interesting Dem got the nomination (there’s another 5 or so candidates in this race, white dudes who I’m sure are all interesting in their own right).  And I also think it will be a nasty, dirty campaign season, per usual these days, and one where we see Hillary excoriated for her politics, gender, marriage and style (and not neccessarily in that order); one where similar political slander such as that against Harold Ford in the midterms is slung at Obama; etc. etc.

I like competition for the sake of competition, and finally, there are some politicians that for me are worth following.  I’m beginning to understand the enthusiastic chatter of all my white, 30-something male peers in the political blogosphere from which I’ve felt pretty alienated until now.  Finally, I’ve got some folks to talk about. 

And we’re off!

4 Responses to “Let the Games Begin!”


  1. 1 Amy
    January 20, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    I am all for a female president (interested, Redstar??) but I loathe Hilary. I find her completely duplicitous, a BS artist. Beyond the fair weather nature of her platforms, I have an allergic reaction to her entire persona. I may be a hypocrite (since I love me some Bill), but I am saddened that the trail is being blazed by Hillary. Not to detract from the milestone, but I guess you know how I won’t be voting…

    See, I DO post on politics. 🙂

  2. 2 Leigh
    January 21, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    This is how most women I know feel about Hillary. I don’t know any female who likes her.

    I know men who feel similarly about her politics, but their dislike seems much more dispassionate.

  3. January 21, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    My thoughts are up over at NYC Weboy…


Leave a Reply

