10
Dec
06

The New Inequality

From the NYT’s 6th Annual Year in Ideas (which I never realized until now was more or less a celebration of the best research or most promising trends in society – must make this list!), a brief discussion of how rising economic inequality is affecting virtually all Americans save the absolute wealthiest (the top .1 percent, or 1/1000 families).  The M.A.S. and I were discussing how my research on poverty is based on a philosophical perspective that the poor’s problems aren’t that different from our own, just at a different scale.  I keep contending that they’re in fact becoming more similar to our own challenges as time passes.  It’ll be some time before I’m in the NYT’s Annual Ideas list, but I’m pleased – though not as much as I am troubled – to see this phenomenon captured here. 

Meanwhile, at the other end of the spectrum…

 

 

1 Response to “The New Inequality”


  1. 1 LBreen
    December 14, 2006 at 11:06 am

    In a previous blog you said:
    “if I was a more thorough academic I’d point you to the actual analyses of HOPE VI initiatives”

    I am writing an article about changes in the Treme. Can you point me to something I can read about this?

    I’m a New Orleans evacuee living now in Portsmouth, NH.

    Also what can you tell me about the origins of the Katrina cottages?

    Thanks in advance for your help.


Leave a Reply

