07
Dec
06

The “Urbanization of the Suburbs”

What I’ve been trying to say, put differently.

(Although Liberty City in Miami felt pretty inner-city to me on my trips there.  Not sure why it’s the image for this article.)

 

2 Responses to “The “Urbanization of the Suburbs””


  1. December 7, 2006 at 9:37 am

    Per your note on this article, I’d tend to agree – I think the immediate question I have is what defines “suburb” for the purposes of this article/study; because I think this is about some “first ring” suburbs (the ones just outside city lines), which have been in transition for the last decade at least.

    When you (they) say suburbs, I think of my neighborhood in Maryland, and the truth is a lot of what made that a suburb (young families, ethnically homogenous – except for me – and somewhat isolated) are really now things that are in the “exurbs”, or the outer rings and countryside. You (Leigh) probably know more about this than I do, but this goes along with my post on education in that I think the old notions of defining cities and the counties around them – which was designed, in part, to kleep “city problems” behind a line has blurred beyond all recognition. And that’s not just at the core of poverty programs, but it’s the driver behind school funding, necause the historic approach of poorly funded city schools and wealthy suburbs helping their own has seriously broken down, both by lawsuits and by, as we note here, the migration of urban issues over the lines.

    See a pattern here? I do. I think this is worth a longer discussion… how about you? 🙂


Leave a Reply

