15
Oct
06

U.S. Married Households Now the Minority

As I bring the M.A.S. coffee in my living room on this lovely Sunday morning, new Census Bureau data unleashes a flurry of speculation by Americans and social scientists on why the percentage of married households in the U.S. is in the minority for the first time (49.7%).

I love these articles – tons of data accompanied by educated guessing by the masses and the intellectuals about how this could be.  It’s gay people!  It’s because women work! It’s because of a loss of faith in this country!  It’s because of the cost of housing in the U.S.!  The honest answer is, right now, no one knows, and it is most likely an interaction of all the phenonema cited in this piece.  Personally, I’m amused by the concern of the guy from Focus on the Family, that young people are becoming too good at being single to learn how to be with another person.  (Didn’t I just comment about that last week??)

I’m looking forward to the coverage of this finding in the coming days, as pundits and politicians wax about the meaning of marriage in society.  I personally have never been able to understand the emphasis, whether I’m sentimentally in love or defiantly single.  It will always feel a bit like a rational, economic decision to me.  And as a feminist and Triskelion alum, I’ve always seen marriage as a political foil for broader efforts to perpetuate gender inequality in our society.  Obviously, this will attach easily to the coverage of Foley these days.  I’m more intrigued to see how conservatives link it to an issue of national security for this country.  I’ll let Wesley take it from here.

2 Responses to “U.S. Married Households Now the Minority”


  1. October 16, 2006 at 10:04 am

    Thank you for the well-wishes for Papa and the rest of the fam. He’s hanging in there, and with any luck, he’ll be home on Wednesday. Finally! Glad to hear your grandmother is doing well too. She sounds like my Papa, equally resistant to the idea of aging.

    I had every intention of commenting on this blog topic, but before I knew it, I was on a rant, so I posted it in my own blog. Excellent topic to rant on. 🙂

  2. 2 Jake
    October 17, 2006 at 5:30 pm

    I read that article, and I loved it! I’m looking forward to being in the minority. Instead of bringing “your single friend” to dinner, it’ll be cool and hip to bring your married friends!


Leave a Reply

