15
Sep
06

T.G.I.F.

Came out of the women’s room in MIT’s Aero/Astro building (that’s aeronautical and astronautical engineering for you lay folks on the other side of the river…ok, I have know idea what is is either) to find this super fan ominously eyeing me…

 Hungry Aero/Astro Fan

…my long red hair an appetizing snack for its hungry blades…

…oversized nitrous tanks in the chem department, architects turning the water fountain into a design installation, commemorative fire trucks on the dome of the Institute – after 3 years, I’m still not quite sure what goes on in this place…

 

It’s been a long, eventful week here, getting back into the swing of things.  Already unintentionally but successfully insulted some Masters’ students with my blogging.  They’ll soon learn that I am wise to their plight, and that my harmless ribbing will be the least of their concerns in no time.  NOLA politics continue to lurch along, disrupting not only my future escapades but my ability to have lunch with friends here as I try from a distance to keep up with the never ending shenanigans. Am concurrently trying to roll out the back to school outfits, avoid making out with the M.A.S. so brazenly that we needlessly traumatize the incoming class, and get used to having hundreds of pages of reading hang over my head once again.  Ordered 26 books from Amazon yesterday, cluttering my hotmail inbox with Marketplace emails and getting myself on track to read the Marxists by mid-October.  Love Marxism, not just because it’s ludicrious and unsustainable (being mainly a mantra of men who enjoy drinking and socializing and find work just gets in the way of that – who doesn’t really), but because then I can really engage with my NOLA housing activists – “Vulturistic urban planner” I resent, capitalist flunky I can handle.

And here I sit at school at 6:30 on Friday night, wrapping up paper edits and looking forward to a much needed date with the M.A.S.  Which will probably be slightly more low key than I originally intended.  Despite my carrying on about being swamped, we did find the time last night (until about 2 a.m.) to finish the second half of my bottle of Krupnik, a polish honey liquer, looking through my atlas as we talked about past and future trips, family histories, and urban diversity and change.  Nerd love is a beautiful thing. 

Enjoy the weekend!

2 Responses to “T.G.I.F.”


  1. September 17, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    I covet your lifestyle.

  2. September 17, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    What a wonderful thing to say! It’s a work in progress, this life, and my years at Deis were a critical period in learning to pursue the things that simultaneously interest and move me.

    Plus, I have always enjoyed fooling around in the hallowed halls of school. 🙂


Leave a Reply

